Trail of Dead Announcement LP ft. Amanda Palmer & Britt Daniel of Spoon, share 2 songs

…And you will know us by the trail of the dead announced their 11th album, XI: Bleed here now, due July 15 via Dine Alone in North America and Century Media in Europe (pre-order). It was produced by the band’s Conrad Keely and Jason Reece alongside former collaborator Charles Godfrey, it features string arrangements, guest vocals from Amanda Palm Tree and Spoon Britt Daniel, and it was made in quadraphonic surround sound. Conrad talked more about it in the biography he wrote for the album:

For those who are not sound engineers, it is important to note the difference: you record an album in the entourage. You record just like you’ve always recorded. You to mix together the album in surround. However, if you intend to mix in surround to begin with, you suddenly find yourself making slightly broader decisions as you approach recording. For example, following our friends at the Tosca String Quartet for the live string arrangements to the opening theme Our Epic Attempts and the Bridgerton-esque string performance (as we jokingly called it) on “Millennium Actress.” , we installed the mics with the idea that we could mix them into four channels rather than two. While doing the vocals for “Growing Divide”, we thought how cool it would be to have our friend Britt Daniel come along and sing one of the harmonies, so we could have four different vocals split between two stereo mixes. And even if our old friend Amanda Palmer was now living in New Zealand (the only artist on the album that wasn’t recorded here in Austin, Texas), wouldn’t there be a male-female vocal duo with its incredible sound, separated in front and behind?

Conrad has also spoken of wanting to return to “the golden age of rock music”. You know this one: before Autotune (pronounced with a German accent, for some reason), before Pro Tools, before those mind-numbing, mind-numbing levels of compression made sound files look like perfect Lego blocks instead of tides rising and falling of the atmospheric evolution.” To do this, they were inspired by “VH1’s behind the music and Classic albums documentaries from the albums we loved – Led Zeppelin, Rush, Peter Gabriel, Kate Bush, Fleetwood Mac, Pink Floyd”, and aimed to make the album the way so many of them were made, in “a place that we could afford to rent for a few months so we never felt time-stressed, and in a relaxing place that would put us at ease and make us look forward to showing up every day.”

Two songs have been released now, “No Confidence” and “Salt In Your Eyes”, and you can definitely hear the musical influence of that 70s rock era on those too. The former is psychedelic and heavy, while the latter brings staccato piano and layered vocal harmonies that would go well alongside McCartney or Queen. Check out both below.

Track list
01 Our Epic Attempts
02 Long Distance Hell
03 Country song
04 Penny Candle
05 No Trust
06 String theme
07 Kill Everyone
08 Growing Gap [ft. Britt Daniel]
09 Pigments
10 Golden Veil
11 A Less Melancholic Life
12 Taken By The Hand
13 Against The World
14 Darkness Into Light
15 Water Tower
16 horror sounds
17 streets of protest
18 Gyre’s Enlargement
19th millennium actress [ft. Amanda Palmer]
20 Salt In Your Eyes
21 English Magic
22 Quiet as the Valley

Leave a Comment